Team Kilimanjaro Hot

Team Kilimanjaro   August 08, 2012  
 
0.0
 
9.9 (8)
4469   0   8   0   0   0

User reviews

8 reviews

 
(8)
7-9 stars
 
(0)
5-7 stars
 
(0)
3-5 stars
 
(0)
1-3 stars
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
9.9
 
9.7  (8)
 
10.0  (8)
 
10.0  (8)
 
10.0  (8)
 
9.4  (8)
 
9.8  (8)
 
9.9  (8)
 
10.0  (8)
 
10.0  (8)
 
10.0  (8)
Access restricted to members. To continue register or
Back to Listing
8 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Value for Money 
 
10.0
Intelligence of Route Configuration 
 
10.0
Ascent Strategy 
 
10.0
Guidance from Climb Leader 
 
10.0
Attentiveness of Staff 
 
10.0
Discipline of Staff 
 
10.0
Courtesy / Friendliness of Staff 
 
10.0
Integrity of Management 
 
10.0
Variety of Food Served 
 
9.5
Quality of Food Served 
 
10.0
Quality of Equipment 
 
10.0
Condition of Equipment 
 
10.0
Spaciousness of Tents 
 
10.0
General Standard of Organisation 
 
10.0
Cohesion of Staff 
 
10.0
Enthusiasm of Staff 
 
10.0
Perceived Job-Satisfaction of Staff 
 
10.0
Company Ethos 
 
10.0
Group Atmosphere 
 
10.0
Quality of Pre-Climb Advice 
 
10.0
Speed of Response to Correspondence 
 
10.0

Team kilimanjaro

We would like to highly recommend team kili. Jonas, Jackson and the rest of the team were incredible. They made us feel welcome right away. Keres made incredible for and alouise was so friendly. They supported us so well and we felt like everyone truly cared about our summit experience. On the summit night our guides also sang in Swahili and we had Amani with us to help with a day pack as well as Jackson and Jonas. The three of them sang so beautiful. We will never forget our summit night. Jonas went above and beyond to be sure to share knowledge of the mountain and the animals and plant life. He also took many memorable photos. We can't recommend team kili strongly enough. Thank you to Jonas, Jackson, Amani, alouise, Benjamin, Keres, Jacob, ernesti, Danny...the list goes on. What an incredible team. Jonas watched our health closely and they all made us eat eat eat. A trek like this is challenging physically and mentally and the altitude risk is scary. However, with a team like team kili you can relax and enjoy the mountain knowing you are in good hands.

Kilimanjaro Tour Operators

Route Climbed
Lemosho
Name of Mountain Guide
Jonas Gerald
Date of Summit Attempt
October 18, 2012
Did you reach Uhuru Summit?
Yes
Name of Climb Booking Agent
Websitr
Number of Climbers in Your Group
2
Number of Days Spent on Kilimanjaro
8
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Value for Money 
 
9.5
Intelligence of Route Configuration 
 
10.0
Ascent Strategy 
 
10.0
Guidance from Climb Leader 
 
10.0
Attentiveness of Staff 
 
10.0
Discipline of Staff 
 
10.0
Courtesy / Friendliness of Staff 
 
10.0
Integrity of Management 
 
10.0
Variety of Food Served 
 
10.0
Quality of Food Served 
 
10.0
Quality of Equipment 
 
10.0
Condition of Equipment 
 
10.0
Spaciousness of Tents 
 
9.5
General Standard of Organisation 
 
10.0
Cohesion of Staff 
 
10.0
Enthusiasm of Staff 
 
10.0
Perceived Job-Satisfaction of Staff 
 
10.0
Company Ethos 
 
10.0
Group Atmosphere 
 
10.0
Quality of Pre-Climb Advice 
 
10.0
Speed of Response to Correspondence 
 
10.0

8 Days TK Lemosho, A Life Time Experience

An Experience of a Life Time is the first thing that comes to my mind after I have completed the 8 days trek lead by Frank John and Julius Mollel. Through out the 8 days, I must say that the climb team have made me feel so much at ease and feel so comfortable that I did not feel too much of the inconvenience during the entire 8 days of trek in the mountains.

I have rented a sleeping bag from them and it was surprisingly clean and new, though it was a little tight but overall it was comfortable.

The food is good and the cook Elisante and the waiters are really on their toes keeping food and water clean as a top priority as non of us have had any issues with food related issues till today and we have been home for 4 days now.

"Hakuna Matata" (No Problem) is the tag line our guide Frank likes to use whenever we are having discussions, he is always positive and accommodating . But what is important is, he never over commits himself.

As for Julius who is the assistant guide, he was with me all the way to the summit, reminding me to hydrate myself and keeping the focus till I achieved the goal.

Both Frank and Julius took over our backpack from the start of the summiting climb. Their commitment to ensure that they both does their best for their climbers so we do not end up having a wasted trip is respectable.

Through out the 8days the porters and crews were all doing their very best to ensure that the tents were up before we arrive and the toilet were cleaned after used and looking after the tents when we were out for our acclimatisation climb.

Finally, I conclude that Team Kilimanjaro did not disappoint me at all for my entire climb experience with them.

Kilimanjaro Tour Operators

Route Climbed
Lemosho
Name of Mountain Guide
Frank John
Date of Summit Attempt
August 21, 2013
Did you reach Uhuru Summit?
Yes
Name of Climb Booking Agent
Climb Killimanjaro
Number of Climbers in Your Group
2
How many of the group reached the summit
2.00
Number of Days Spent on Kilimanjaro
8
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
9.9
Value for Money 
 
9.0
Intelligence of Route Configuration 
 
10.0
Ascent Strategy 
 
10.0
Guidance from Climb Leader 
 
10.0
Attentiveness of Staff 
 
10.0
Discipline of Staff 
 
10.0
Courtesy / Friendliness of Staff 
 
10.0
Integrity of Management 
 
10.0
Variety of Food Served 
 
10.0
Quality of Food Served 
 
10.0
Quality of Equipment 
 
9.0
Condition of Equipment 
 
9.0
Spaciousness of Tents 
 
10.0
General Standard of Organisation 
 
10.0
Cohesion of Staff 
 
10.0
Enthusiasm of Staff 
 
10.0
Perceived Job-Satisfaction of Staff 
 
10.0
Company Ethos 
 
10.0
Group Atmosphere 
 
10.0
Quality of Pre-Climb Advice 
 
10.0
Speed of Response to Correspondence 
 
10.0

AN AMAZING EXPERIENCE!

We climbed Kili in September 2013. Team Kilimanjaro's website is brilliant with heaps of information that prepared us for the climb. Bianca was a pleasure to deal with - always replying to my emails promptly and professionally.

Our guide, Jackson Mtui, and his team were amazing. We are full of admiration for the effort that they all put into helping tourists like us fulfill our dreams, enduring far worse conditions and putting us to shame in the way they do it all with such ease and good grace (with none of the sophisticated equipment).

We appreciated Jackson's care and attention and felt safe in his hands. He was responsive to any issues or concerns that we raised. For example, when my brother (who is ~196cm & 100kg) said he found the sleeping bag too small, Jackson tracked down a spare sleeping bag from another TK group and created a "double-sized" sleeping bag by zipping the two bags together! Jackson's good knowledge of the plants and wildlife also added to our enjoyment of the trek. We liked his calm, reassuring manner and he appeared to have the respect of all his team.

The food was excellent - we were amazed to have a different soup for each meal & impressed with Exaud's culinary skills considering the difficult conditions & limited equipment he had to prepare & cook with.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Team Kilimanjaro to family and friends & hope that one day we may return to Africa to travel further. Our sons, are already talking about planning a trip and hope that one day Jackson will also be their guide to the summit!

Kilimanjaro Tour Operators

Route Climbed
Rongai
Name of Mountain Guide
Jackson Mtui
Date of Summit Attempt
September 20, 2013
Did you reach Uhuru Summit?
Yes
Name of Climb Booking Agent
Team Kilimanjaro
Number of Climbers in Your Group
3
How many of the group reached the summit
3.00
Number of Days Spent on Kilimanjaro
7
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
9.8
Value for Money 
 
10.0
Intelligence of Route Configuration 
 
10.0
Ascent Strategy 
 
10.0
Guidance from Climb Leader 
 
10.0
Attentiveness of Staff 
 
10.0
Discipline of Staff 
 
10.0
Courtesy / Friendliness of Staff 
 
10.0
Integrity of Management 
 
10.0
Variety of Food Served 
 
10.0
Quality of Food Served 
 
10.0
Quality of Equipment 
 
9.0
Condition of Equipment 
 
9.0
Spaciousness of Tents 
 
10.0
General Standard of Organisation 
 
10.0
Cohesion of Staff 
 
9.5
Enthusiasm of Staff 
 
10.0
Perceived Job-Satisfaction of Staff 
 
10.0
Company Ethos 
 
10.0
Group Atmosphere 
 
10.0
Quality of Pre-Climb Advice 
 
10.0
Speed of Response to Correspondence 
 
9.0

Team Kilimanjaro surpassed expectations

I am really pleased that I chose Team Kilimanjaro for our climb. We started off on the wrong foot when British Airways lost one of our bags packed with climbing gear. Our guide John Naiman helped us with a problem that became more complex than expected. I was very impressed by John. Every step of the climb was perfectly coordinated. The extraordinary quality of the meals cooked by William was completely unexpected. The group of cheerful and friendly porters was stimulating and constantly rewarding.

I am 52 and I developed left knee pain on my way up. I discussed my problem with John who was well aware of my limping at the end of the second day. I mentioned to him that I would take a strong anti-inflammatory and that I expected to be better by morning time. The medicine helped by reducing the pain. I thought that I might have a chance to keep going and that I would quit whenever I couldn’t take it anymore. I knew for sure that it was going to be almost impossible to come down. I discussed this with John who was always very encouraging and said “hakuna matata” almost every time we spoke. He mentioned to me that he was going to take an experienced porter to carry my backpack and help me on the way down. Our guide was always calm and when options were proposed by me or my son; he always listened, thought about them and came later with a proposal. My pace was slow. John decided to leave early from School Hut to compensate for my pace. We left an hour earlier and made it to Uhuru peak on time. Our progress downward from Gillman’s Point to Kibo Hut was the hardest. Manasa helped me on the way down. I was limping and going very slow when I arrived to Kibo Hut. John encouraged me to keep going to Horombo where there was a stretcher provided by the park. We spent our last night there and in the morning I was told that everything was ready. Three men provided by the park and two members of TK carried me down, while my 18 year old son ran down with one of the porters.

I am the CEO of more than one company and I recognize organization and leadership. I believe that companies and individuals who make the difference are the ones who manage and succeed beyond the expected routines. Team Kilimanjaro and my guide John just did that.

Kilimanjaro Tour Operators

Route Climbed
Rongai
Name of Mountain Guide
John Naiman
Date of Summit Attempt
December 21, 2013
Did you reach Uhuru Summit?
Yes
Name of Climb Booking Agent
Ally
Number of Climbers in Your Group
2
How many of the group reached the summit
2.00
Number of Days Spent on Kilimanjaro
7
Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 25, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
9.7
Value for Money 
 
10.0
Intelligence of Route Configuration 
 
10.0
Ascent Strategy 
 
10.0
Guidance from Climb Leader 
 
10.0
Attentiveness of Staff 
 
10.0
Discipline of Staff 
 
10.0
Courtesy / Friendliness of Staff 
 
10.0
Integrity of Management 
 
9.0
Variety of Food Served 
 
9.5
Quality of Food Served 
 
10.0
Quality of Equipment 
 
8.5
Condition of Equipment 
 
8.0
Spaciousness of Tents 
 
10.0
General Standard of Organisation 
 
10.0
Cohesion of Staff 
 
10.0
Enthusiasm of Staff 
 
10.0
Perceived Job-Satisfaction of Staff 
 
10.0
Company Ethos 
 
10.0
Group Atmosphere 
 
10.0
Quality of Pre-Climb Advice 
 
10.0
Speed of Response to Correspondence 
 
8.0

Team Kilimanjaro far exceeded my high expectations.

We just returned from our climb with Team Kilimanjaro in June 2017. I had high expectations for our hike and attempt to summit Mount Kilimanjaro with Team Kilimanjaro since TK came highly recommended from a friend who climbed with them two years ago – the recommendation was so strong I didn’t even research or consider another outfitter and guide team. However, my high expectations were exceeded thanks to the outstanding crew led by the incomparable and outstanding chief guide Faraja Mwaijande. It’s no small thing to put effectively put your well-being and health in the hands of strangers, albeit capable and experienced strangers; however, when Faraja told us during the pre-climb meeting he has summitted the mountain more than 400 times, any lingering anxiety about trip safety and comfort evaporated. Faraja was essentially the trek CEO, managing logistics, the route (Lemosho, which had to be adjusted when a bridge washed out), and the crew, and kept an attentive but respectful eye on my husband and me as we adapted to the challenges of invigorating daily hikes (including a couple of extra acclimatization hikes) and thinning oxygen. Faraja also has an excellent baritone singing voice which he busted out (leading the entire crew) a couple times when he could tell we really needed a pick-me-up. But as Rome wasn’t built in a day, it wasn’t Faraja alone that got us to the summit, safely and comfortably. We covered every inch of the climb with assistant guide Frank Leonard (with over 100 summits to his name) who was very attentive and knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor, and probably kept me from breaking my ankle on the descent when he caught me more than once as I started to tumble. Abdala Mbega was also extremely helpful and served multiple roles on the climb, and was on the small team (with Faraja and Frank) who led us on final summit, motivating us all the way to the top, and then got us back down quickly and safely when I got a mild cause of altitude nausea. But that’s not all! We were so well fed – 3 hot meals a day, on a mountain, plus afternoon tea. And the food was great, thanks to chef Leopard Amon. I still don’t know how he managed, it but it was all very strategic – each meal was multiple courses, meant to keep you fueled, warm, and hydrated, but also very, very tasty which is important because you tend to lose your appetite as you ascend. Between the great food and the toilet tent (expertly managed by Peterson Kimaro), it was a much more comfortable camping experience than I was expecting. We weren’t able to speak too much with the porters due to language, but they were extremely friendly and helpful – we were able to bridge the language gap a bit with our little bit of Swahili and their broader familiarity with English. The only thing I would have done differently is to bring our own sleeping bags – the ones we rented from TK were a little long in the tooth. I think the TK website recommends bringing your own, but I must have missed that part. However, the crazy thick and very comfortable sleeping pads TK provided made up for the too old and beaten up sleeping bags.
To sum up, I strongly recommend climbing with TK for their superior guides (you can a book your climb with our guides and chef!) and crew and for the good value and flexibility TK offers – I was amazed to find we could book a private climb (just my husband and me) for less money than group climbs offered by some other outfitters who don’t appear to offer private climbs at all, let alone at the good value of the TK package. Also, since we wanted to go on safari after the climb, it was very convenient to book the safari through TK. The TK safari was also an outstanding experience due in large to part to our fantastic guide Innocent, but I’ll cover that in a separate review.

Kilimanjaro Tour Operators

Route Climbed
Lemosho
Name of Mountain Guide
Faraja Mwaijaande
Date of Summit Attempt
June 05, 2017
Did you reach Uhuru Summit?
Yes
Name of Climb Booking Agent
Team Kilimanjaro, Bianca
Number of Climbers in Your Group
2
How many of the group reached the summit
2.00
Number of Days Spent on Kilimanjaro
7
Was this review helpful to you? 
8 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2  
 
Powered by JReviews